For each contact you have subscribed to, you can see their presence. Similarly, your contacts can see your presence on their contact list. Presence means that your friends are able to see whether you are available to communicate, for example, “I’m busy” or “I’m available”.
This guide gives an overview of your Presence information and how to view a contact’s presence.
This is used to indicate whether you are available and willing to communicate. Your presence is set by the desktop app when you are logged in and using the app. If you want to change your Presence manually,
- Click on your avatar, a drop-down menu appears.
- From the Status drop-down menu select your status. You can choose from Available, Away, Busy and Offline.
Note: If you choose Offline as your status, you will not be able to view any of your contacts’ presence.
Location - Location in presence is done based on the IP address that the machine is using. The IP address is mapped to a physical location. To change the location manually, select the location and a pop-up window will appear, allowing you to choose Use manual location.
Viewing a Contact’s Presence – If you subscribe to a contact, you will create a Presence relationship with that person. This means you can see the contact’s current Presence, his or her location, as well as any information Messages he or she has posted.
- To subscribe to contact, right-click on the contact’s name and select Subscribe. The contact you wish to subscribe to will receive a notification. Once accepted, the Presence relationship will be established.
Note: The same process applies when adding contacts from the company directory.
If you unsubscribe from a contact, you will remove the Presence relationship between yourself and that contact. This means you will no longer see the contact’s Presence information and that contact will not see yours.
- To unsubscribe, right-click the contact, then select Unsubscribe.
Note: Unsubscribed contacts remain in the contacts list, although no presence information is shown. You must remove the contact to delete that person from your contacts list.